24 May 2018

Apolitical has just released their Gender Equality Top 100. The list is compiled from nominations from around the world, with the aim to celebrate the people making our societies fairer and better to live in.

Those in Apolitical’s Top 20 include:

Executive Director of UN Women Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, Activist and founder of Malala Fund Malala Yousafzai, Marl è ne Schiappa, CEO and President of Women Deliver Katja Iverson, Deputy Secretary-General of the UN Amina Mohammed, Former Australian PM and Chair of Global Institute for Women’s Leadership Julia Gillard, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden Margot Wallström, Prime Minister of Canada Justin Trudeau, Caren Grown, Melinda Gates, Michelle Bachelet, Geeta Rao Gupta, Marian Baird, Åsa Regnér, Sadiq Khan, Iris Bohnet, Sarah Degnan Kambou, Maryam Monsef and Gary Barker.

In TOP-100 is also Katerina Levchenko - the governmental commissioner for gender policy in Ukraine. She has been president of the International Women’s Rights Centre La Strada-Ukraine since 1998. Holder of a doctorate in philosophy, she also coordinates the All-Ukrainian Network Against Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children. She has advised man international organisations, such as UNDP, UNICEF and the Council of Europe.

The list recognises pioneering people across seven categories: Public Service, Politics, Academia, Philanthropy, International organisations, NGOs and Advocacy.

Apolitical is a global platform that puts the best solutions in the world at the fingertips of public servants, wherever they are in the world. Apolitical also curate and publish content about what’s working in policy making across the world including on topic areas such as gender equality and government innovation.